Blue Line

CACP recognizes excellence in policing and public safety with 2018 awards

During the 113th Annual Conference of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP), the association rewarded the accomplishments of select individuals and teams who have demonstrated initiative, innovation and exceptional service in the exercise of their duties.

September 27, 2018  By Staff

“The following individuals have distinguished themselves among their peers for their important and exceptional contributions to policing and public safety in Canada,” the CACP announced. “Their effort and dedication is commendable, inspiring and must be acknowledged.”

Award winners included:

• CACP Policing Partnership Award: Barry Elliott, a retired Ontario Provincial Police Officer for Project Chargeback. 

• CACP Recognition Award: Deputy Chief Const. Mike Serr, Abbotsford Police Department, for his valuable contributions as the Co-chair of the CACP Drug Advisory Committee. 


• CACP/Motorola Awards of Excellence in Emergency Preparedness

  • Emergency Preparedness Program: the Perth County 
Emergency Management Municipal 511 Project. 

  • Emergency Response Exercise: the Ottawa Emergency 
Management Program Ottawa 2017 C3 Exercise. 

• CACP Award of Excellence for Combating Organized Crime: the 
Sûreté du Québec for their National Strategy to Combat Organized Crime. 

• CACP Traffic Safety Awards:

  • National Police Award for Traffic Safety: the Ottawa Police Service’s Fatal Collision Review Committee. 

  • Lifetime Achievement Award for Traffic Safety: Insp. Doug C. Fenske, Ontario Provincial Police. 

• CACP International Policing Award: Staff Sgt. James Clover, Edmonton Police Service. 

• Group Award: all members of the Toronto Police Hold Up Squad which consists of Det. Steven Campbell, Det.-Const. Graham Knill, Det. Joseph Matys, Det.-Const. Paul Mills, Det. Paul Moreau, and Det. Kevin Sedore.

• Canadian Bank’s Law Enforcement Awards:

  • Individual Award: Const. Arvind Sidhu, Toronto Police Service

• Bank of Canada Award for Excellence in Counterfeit Deterrence: the Royal Canadian Mounted Police’s Integrated Counterfeit Enforcement Team (ICET) Federal Serious and Organized Crime–Financial Integrity “E” Division (British Columbia): Cpl. Vinh Ngo, Civilian Investigative Analyst Ms. Gayle Myette, and retired Const. Bud Bishop

Print this page


Stories continue below