Blue Line

Surrey Police Service recognizes 50 individuals at awards ceremony

November 9, 2023  By Surrey Police Service

Nov. 9, 2023, Surrey, B.C. – On Nov. 8, Surrey Police Service (SPS) recognized the contributions of 50 police officers and civilian staff for their work in furthering the development of SPS and excellence in policing.

“The accomplishments of this outstanding group of police officers and civilians is a testament to the commitment they have made to their professions and to the residents of Surrey,” says Chief Constable Norm Lipinski.

Several officers were recognized for their actions during critical incidents and investigations that required lifesaving efforts or exemplary police work. These included an SPS officer grabbing a hold of the arms of a distraught man who had let go of the railing on a bridge; officer responses to shooting and stabbing incidents; an off-duty officer helping a trapped driver following a head-on collision; and an SPS detective securing charges in a complex, historic, multi-jurisdictional crime.

SPS also recognized nine police officers and three civilians for their contributions to building the organization and advancing the policing transition. Award recipients provided invaluable support for recruits and experienced officers joining SPS, and developed systems that benefitted all staff.


Surrey Police Board Commendations were presented to seven civilians including those who were part of the original project team that helped to form Surrey Police Service, and three employees received BC Association of Police Boards Awards for excellence in supporting innovation and governance.

Ten SPS officers were also recognized for their long service in policing and the military.

2023 Award Recipients

Police Board Commendation
Mr. Johan Brand
Ms. Marion Chow, Ms. Melissa Granum, Ms. Theresa Magnien, Ms. Forouzan Rezazadeh, Ms. Donna Smith and Ms. Nicola Webb

BC Association of Police Boards Award
Sergeant Kato Atebe and Constable Michael Mallais
Mr. Dominic Wong

Deputy Chief Constable Certificate of Appreciation
Constable Nyshan Basra and Constable Harkirat Smagh
Staff Sergeant Darren Bayne, Staff Sergeant Jodi Gormick and Sergeant Aaron McRae
Sergeant Ken Day and Constable (name withheld for privacy)
Sergeant Ryan Forbes
Constable Chanbir Jawanda, Constable William Luettger, Constable Danielle Niederkircher and Constable Matt Sansoucy
Constable Brandon Lanthier and Constable Michael Reinhard
Sergeant Curtis Nay
Constable Mustafa Paerhati
Ms. Lorene Thiessen
Ms. Caitlin Young

Deputy Chief Constable Commendations
Constable Paige Armstrong
Sergeant Sonu Parhar and Detective Constable Jeremy Pearce
Sergeant Chris Payette, Constable Sunny Gill and Constable Davinder Saggu
Sergeant Ryan Phillips
Constable John Tompkins
Detective Constable (name withheld for privacy)

Chief Constable Commendations
Sergeant Michael Bruce
Constable Ryan Buhrig
Mr. Richard Kwai
Sergeant Kristina Paech

Police Exemplary Service Medal (20 Year)
Staff Sergeant Kerry Blades
Sergeant Christine Cho
Sergeant Paul Dungey
Sergeant Ryan Forbes
Inspector Scott Maglio
Sergeant Kristina Paech

Police Exemplary Service Bar (30 Year)
Deputy Chief Constable Todd Matsumoto
Constable Kalvi Nahal
Sergeant Major Rick Stewart

Canadian Forces Decoration (12 Year)
Constable Michael Power

Print this page


Stories continue below