Blue Line

Board announces next chief of Thunder Bay Police Service

March 21, 2023  By Blue Line Staff / Thunder Bay Police Services Board

Mar. 21, 2023, Thunder Bay, Ont. – The Thunder Bay Police Services Board has announced the selection of Darcy Fleury as the new Chief of Police for the Thunder Bay Police Service.

Fleury has 36 years of experience with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) and is currently the RCMP District Commander – Chief Superintendent, Central Alberta District based in Edmonton. Fleury will assume the role as Chief Designate on April 17, 2023 and will begin a one-month transition period with Interim Chief Dan Taddeo. A change of command ceremony is planned for May 15, 2023.

Originally from Manitoba, Fleury is a proud Member of Manitoba Metis Federation, where his father was a founding member.

Fleury brings to the position his extensive experience in investigative, operational and administrative policing, including leadership at senior and executive levels. His career spans postings in the Northwest Territories, Manitoba and Alberta.

The Board established a Governance Committee with a mandate that included the recruitment of a new Chief of Police for the Thunder Bay Police Service. The Committee includes three members of the Board and members of the community. The composition of the Committee ensures that important governance decisions are considered not just by the Board but are informed and assisted by community voices. The community members of the Governance Committee involved in the recruitment of the new Chief were David Achneepineskum, Denise Baxter (now a Board member) and Cora McGuire-Cyrette. Mayor Ken Boshcoff, Councillor Shelby Ch’ng and Karen Machado participated as Board members.

Print this page


Stories continue below