Acting Supt. Stu Eley has retired from the Toronto Police Service after 43 years.
Brenda Lucki is the new commissioner designate of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.
After a 36-year career in policing, Deputy Chief Jeff Bent is retiring from the Saskatoon Police Service (SPS).
Staff Sgt. Isobel Granger of the Ottawa Police Service (OPS) has been promoted to the rank of inspector — the first Black female to be promoted to this rank at OPS.
Don Head has retired as the Commissioner of Corrections for the Correctional Service of Canada after 10 years in the role. He started as a correctional officer in 1978.
After 11 years with the University of Guelph Campus Community Police, manager of operations Pat Martin has officially retired. Prior to this role, he served for 35 years with Guelph Police Service, climbing to the rank of staff sergeant.
Norm Hansen is the new chief for Sarnia Police Service, taking over for outgoing Chief Phil Nelson. Owen Lockhart will be the new deputy chief, taking over for Bob Farlow.
Blue Line columnist and OPP emergency response team member Isabelle Sauve completed a Guinness World Record at the 2018 Louisiana Marathon in Baton Rouge for the fastest handcuffed marathoners (mixed pair). Sauve and her Australian running partner, Bruno, beat the existing record by 13 minutes.
The Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, Elizabeth Dowdeswell, has presented Niagara Regional Police Service (NRPS) Chaplain Gary Page with the Ontario Medal of Good Citizenship.
Insp. Zvonko Horvat has been named chief of police for Aylmer Police Service. He has been in policing for 32 years, starting at Haldimand Norfolk Regional Police. In 2008 he became inspector detachment commander for Norfolk OPP.
Insp. Vanessa Leslie has been promoted to detachment commander of the OPP’s Highway Safety Division (HSD) - Toronto Detachment. The move makes her the first Black female inspector in the OPP. She has been a member of the OPP since 1994.
Insp. Paula M. Walsh has retired from the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary after 33 and a half years of service. She has been appointed Assistant Deputy Minister of Public Safety and Enforcement, Newfoundland and Labrador.
Toronto Police Staff Sgt. Adrianne Johnstone is leaving for the private sector after 25 years of policing. First hired with the Ontario Provincial Police in 1995, she then moved to the Toronto Police Service (TPS) in 2001 where she helped design and implement a new standard by combining the major crime unit with the community response unit (now known as the Neighbourhood Safety Team). Her last tenure with TPS was running both the operational and administrative side of the marine unit. 
Chris Barratt is the interim national president for the International Police Association - Canada Section (IPA Canada). Denis Nadeau has resigned due to health challenges. Barratt is also the president of IPA Canada, Region 2.
Alex Vacca has been promoted to the rank of deputy sheriff in Portage la Prairie, Man., with the Central Plains District of the Government of Manitoba (Detachment 2IC). His roles include judicial policing and enforcement of court orders.

Subscription Centre

New Subscription
Already a Subscriber
Customer Service
View Digital Magazine Renew

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. To find out more, read our Privacy Policy.