RCMP announces 2018 recipients of anti-harassment scholarship

November 02, 2018
By Staff
The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is pleased to announce the first-ever recipients of the new Troop 17 Scholarship.

The scholarship, announced in April 2018, was created to recognize students who have made significant contributions to the prevention of bullying and harassment in their schools or communities.

Applications were received from students across Canada, and judged on creativity, clarity, and the overall impact of their efforts in the community.

The five recipients for 2018 are as follows:

•    Marie-Ève Simard, Quebec City, Que.
•    Rebecca J. Bagan, Outremont, Que.
•    Sebastian Bodine, Nelson, B.C.
•    Shelly Robichaud, Bathurst, N.B.
•    Taylor Osarchuk Maddox, Port Robinson, Ont.

Recipients are each awarded $1,000 while they work towards their post-secondary education.

 “The RCMP is proud to support the education of students who have made a real difference in their schools and communities by having the courage to stand up to bullying and harassment,” said Commissioner Brenda Lucki. “I congratulate this year’s recipients on their accomplishments, and thank them for helping support a culture of inclusion and respect across Canada.”

Add comment

Security code

Subscription Centre

New Subscription
Already a Subscriber
Customer Service
View Digital Magazine Renew

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. To find out more, read our Privacy Policy.