Blue Line

Manitoba recognizes 10 officers with excellence in law enforcement for 2018

Ten police officers from across Manitoba have received Excellence in Law Enforcement awards in recognition of “outstanding contributions to their communities and police services,” Justice Minister Cliff Cullen announced recently.

January 9, 2019  By Staff

“These officers have demonstrated exceptional dedication to public safety in their communities and it is an honour to present them with these awards,” Cullen said. “Their dedication has made a real difference in the lives of Manitobans, helping to keep our communities safe.”

The awards were presented at the Manitoba Association of Chiefs of Police Excellence in Policing Awards dinner in late 2018.  

Recipients are:

•    Staff Sgt. Douglas Ashton, Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP);
•    Cpl. Brock Carson, RCMP;
•    Const. Julie Coté, RCMP;
•    Insp. David Dalal, Winnipeg Police Service (WPS);
•    Insp. Greg Hebert, Brandon Police Service (BPS);
•    Cpl. John Hurley, RCMP;
•    Special Const. Ryan Jack Linklater, RCMP;
•    Det. Moazzodin Sadr, WPS;
•    Const. Christopher Stupak, BPS; and
•    Sgt. George William Whelan, RCMP


“Congratulations to these officers for their outstanding service to Manitobans,” said RCMP Assistant Commissioner Scott Kolody, president of the Manitoba Association of Chiefs of Police.  “Police work is hard work, and these officers have taken it above and beyond when it comes to community safety and engagement.  I am proud to call these officers colleagues.”

The Excellence in Law Enforcement Awards were established by the provincial government to recognize extraordinary efforts by police officers in Manitoba. Award recipients are selected by a committee with representatives from BPS, RCMP, WPS and Manitoba Justice.

More than 150 police officers have received this award to recognize their contributions to their communities, police service or the betterment of law enforcement in Manitoba.

Print this page


Stories continue below