Blue Line

2014 F. Darren Smith Award recipient

October 3, 2014  By Christine Jackson

Jane Naydiuk of the BC Ministry of Justice Police Services Division is the 2014 recipient of the F. Darren Smith Award of Excellence.

Presented at the Canadian Police Knowledge Network’s (CPKN) Stanhope Workshop in Charlottetown, the award recognizes Naydiuk’s many contributions to technology-enhanced learning in the Canadian policing sector.

More than ever, technology and collaboration are the key ingredients to creating effective, cost-effective learning. Whether the result of inquiry recommendations or in response to an emerging community issue, police are frequently tasked with ensuring frontline officers are trained to respond appropriately and safely.

This can present many challenges, not the least of which is getting training to officers in an economical and timely manner. In British Columbia, Naydiuk has been a driving force behind a number of initiatives that prove a collaborative, technology-enhanced approach is a best practice for police learning.


“Jane has merged her passions for policing and education to increase the effectiveness, defensibility and accessibility of police training in BC,” says Rachel Graham, who nominated Naydiuk for the award and is a colleague at the Ministry of Justice.

“Her efforts have been instrumental in ensuring the province was able to meet its training obligations under the Braidwood Inquiry and other provincially mandated requirements.”

A sergeant with the Saanich Police Department, Naydiuk was seconded to the Ministry’s Police Services division in 2007. In the time since, she has been involved in several mandatory province-wide training initiatives.

In response to recommendations coming out of Braidwood, Naydiuk worked with municipal, provincial and federal stakeholders, as well as external partners, to develop a technology-enhanced solution to deliver Taser operator training, crisis intervention and de-escalation training to police officers across BC.

Similarly, in 2013, she coordinated numerous agencies, including the ministry, RCMP, Crown Counsel and victim services to produce a two-part training program to communicate best practices in investigating domestic violence incidents.

“Jane has championed the strategic use of technology-enhanced learning solutions to address training requirements for officers across BC. For RCMP in particular, this has been critical for reaching a highly dispersed police force in a timely and consistent manner,” says Insp. Shirley Steele, OIC of Training Services at the RCMP’s Pacific Region Training Centre.

“Her ability to mobilize and garner inter-agency cooperation is also leading the way to achieving sustainable education and training for the police community.”

In addition to her work on behalf of the province, Naydiuk is also working to advance collaboration and the use of technology in learning at the national level. Much of the content created for the BC initiatives has been adopted in jurisdictions around the country. This hasn’t only promoted the use of established best practices, it has also reduced duplication of effort to create accompanying training resources.

Naydiuk has been a long-time advocate of the CPKN and has actively served on its national advisory committee since 2007. In association with the Justice Institute of BC, she has also participated in the Police Sector Council’s Constable Competency Project, the outcomes of which are now being integrated into BC’s recruit training program.

“Jane exemplifies the spirit of this Award,” says Sandy Sweet, CPKN President. “Her vision, commitment and leadership in the area of technology-enhanced learning are qualities that the entire police community can celebrate and emulate.”

In accepting the award, Naydiuk stressed the contributions of everyone involved.

“There have been many people and many agencies who have inspired and informed our journey in BC,” she said. “This award is recognition of that collective effort. Thank you.”


Sandy Sweet (left), CPKN President present Jane Naydiuk (right) with the F. Darren Smith Award of Excellence at the 2014 Stanhope Workshop in Charlottetown.


The F. Darren Smith Award of Excellence was established by the CPKN in 2012 to recognize and honour individuals in Canadian policing who demonstrate outstanding leadership, commitment and vision in advancing technology-enhanced learning (TEL). Visit to learn more.

Print this page


Stories continue below